Home » Other » General » Oracle/SQL + website
Oracle/SQL + website [message #483162] Thu, 18 November 2010 18:59 Go to next message
Paya
Hi all,

I was wondering what is best to choose for my last years project. I'm going to try and make a database and a website that should get linked up together. My question is; should I use Oracle or MySQL to make the database? What is easier to link them both up? I know I will need php for this as well btw.

On the website I will have the option for users to register themselves and to book appointments through a calender or something similar and this should get saved on the database and also retrieve data from it. Again, is Oracle or MySQL easier to do this with?

I have only used Oracle to make a database in and im not THAT technical..if that can help you guys make me decide?

Thank you!
Re: Oracle/SQL + website [message #483165 is a reply to message #483162] Thu, 18 November 2010 19:08 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
>What is easier to link them both up? I know I will need php for this as well btw.
Linux, Apache, MYSQL, PHP (LAMP) are an effective combination.
For your purposes, Oracle is much too complex & more user hostile than MYSQL.
Re: Oracle/SQL + website [message #483166 is a reply to message #483165] Thu, 18 November 2010 19:19 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Paya
BlackSwan wrote on Thu, 18 November 2010 19:08
>What is easier to link them both up? I know I will need php for this as well btw.
Linux, Apache, MYSQL, PHP (LAMP) are an effective combination.
For your purposes, Oracle is much too complex & more user hostile than MYSQL.

Thanks for the reply. Guess I'll have to get familiar with MySQL and PHP then Smile
Re: Oracle/SQL + website [message #483188 is a reply to message #483166] Fri, 19 November 2010 00:50 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator